Creative process for International Scott Centenary Expedition Map day 2

Today I went to get my paper. I like Fabriano 300 mg hot pressed paper, it is a watercolour paper but it absorbs ink well and is not too bumpy. I have driven myself insane today trying to get the scale right 600 miles to 6 inches. I plotted out the basic outline of the shapes and the meridian line  etc.

Trying to find a big enough compass was a nightmare! If anyone one knows a cartographer who could loan me a decent  compass then  let me know!

I’m very aware of the date and the fact that this has to be completed by the end of the month. Time is against me if this is going to be framed and ready to auction at Greenwich in December. I will be burning the midnight oil I think.

Plotting the lines and shapes
